Vermont Rental Laws
Your Vermont Rental Laws Guide to helpful links and information for leases, rent, security deposits, tenant screening, real estate and government.
Official Website of the State of Vermont
The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of Vermont was 626,562 on July 1, 2014, a 0.13% increase since the 2010 United States Census.
The State of Vermont has 14 counties.
State Rules and Regulations
- Keys Laws Landlords and Tenants Need to Know
- Vermont Residential Landlord and Tenant Code
- Local Tenant Rights, Laws, and Protections
- Vermont Landlord Tenant Handbook
Important Lease Terms
- Amount: No Restrictions
- Return Deadline: 14 days; 60 days if the rental is seasonal and not intended as the tenant’s primary residence
Fees and Notice
- Applications Fees: None allowed
- Termination Notice: 30 Days
- Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent: Yes can repair and deduct
- Vermont Required Landlord Disclosure
- The Lead Disclosure Rule: Federal law requires that before signing a lease for housing built before 1978, renters must receive The Lead Based Paint EPA Disclosure and Lead Based Paint EPA Pamphlet
Real Estate Links
- Vermont Association of Realtors
- Vermont Verify Real Estate Agent License
- Verify RE Agent License Nationwide and Canada
- Fair Credit Reporting Act: Federal Government legislation which promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of consumer information contained in the files of consumer reporting agencies.
- Fair Housing Act: The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children
- Summary of Your Rights Under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA)
- Counties covered: Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham
Last Updated: April 20, 2020