North Dakota Rental Laws 2017-09-06T10:20:13+00:00

North Dakota Rental Laws

Your Guide to helpful links and information for leases, rent, security deposits, tenant screening, real estate and government.

Official Website of the State of North Dakota

The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of North Dakota was 739,482 on July 1, 2014, a 9.95% increase since the 2010 United States Census

The State of North Dakota has 53 counties.

North Dakota Rental Laws County MapState Rules and Regulations

Important Lease Terms

Security Deposits

  • Amount: 1 Month
  • Return Deadline:  30 Days

Fees and Notice

  • Applications Fees:  No Restrictions
  • Termination Notice:  3 Days
  • Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent: May repair and deduct

Landlord Disclosures

Real Estate Links

Federal Government

  • Fair Credit Reporting Act:  Federal Government legislation which promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of consumer information contained in the files of consumer reporting agencies.
  • Fair Housing Act:  The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children

Credit Reports

Tenant Screening

  • Counties covered:  Adams,  Barnes,  Benson,  Billings,  Bottineau,  Bowman,  Burke,  Burleigh,  Cass,  Cavalier,  Dickey,  Divide,  Dunn,  Eddy,  Emmons,  Foster,  Golden Valley,  Grand Forks,  Grant,  Griggs,  Hettinger,  Kidder,  LaMoure,  Logan,  McHenry,  McIntosh,  McKenzie,  McLean,  Mercer,  Morton,  Mountrail,  Nelson,  Oliver,  Pembina,  Pierce,  Ramsey,  Ransom,  Renville,  Richland,  Rolette,  Sargent,  Sheridan,  Sioux,  Slope,  Stark,  Steele,  Stutsman,  Towner,  Traill,  Walsh,  Ward,  Wells,  Williams
  • Summary of Your Rights Under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA)

Last Updated: November 10, 2016

No Set Up Fees, No Contracts, No Monthly Minimums!