Alaska Rental Laws

Alaska Rental Laws

Your Alaska Rental Laws Guide to helpful links and information for leases, rent, security deposits, tenant screening, real estate and government.

Alaska Rental Laws tenant screening image

Official Website of the State of Alaska

The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of Alaska was 736,732 on July 1, 2014, a 3.73% increase since the 2010 United States Census

The State of Alaska has 19 boroughs, 1 unorganized borough and 10 census areas totaling 30.

State Rules and Regulations

Important Lease Terms

Security Deposits

  • Amount: 2 Months or greater if the monthly rent is greater than $2,000
  • Return Deadline:  Under Alaska law, a landlord must return the tenant’s security deposit within 14 days if the tenant has given proper notice to terminate the tenancy. The landlord has 30 days to return the deposit if the tenant hasn’t given proper notice

Fees and Notice

  • Applications Fees: No Restrictions
  • Termination Notice:  10 days for violators of agreement materially affecting health and safety; 3 days to cure for failing to pay utility bills, resulting in shut-off, additional 2 to vacate.
  • Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent: Can Withhold or Repair and Deduct

Landlord Disclosures

Real Estate Links

Federal Government

  • Fair Credit Reporting Act:  Federal Government legislation which promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of consumer information contained in the files of consumer reporting agencies.
  • Fair Housing Act:  The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children

Credit Reports

Tenant Screening

Last Updated: April 7, 2020