New Jersey Rental Laws 2017-09-06T10:14:36+00:00

New Jersey Rental Laws

Your Guide to helpful links and information for leases, rent, security deposits, tenant screening, real estate and government.

Official Website of the State of New Jersey

The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of New Jersey was 8,938,175 on July 1, 2014, a 1.66% increase since the 2010 United States Census

The State of New Jersey has 21 counties.

New Jersey Rental Laws County Map

State Rules and Regulations

Important Lease Terms

Security Deposits

  • Amount: 1 and a half months
  • Return Deadline:  30 days; five days in case of fire, flood, condemnation, or evacuation; does not apply to owner-occupied building with two or fewer units where tenant fails to provide 30 days’ written notice to landlord invoking provisions of act

Fees and Notice:

  • Applications Fees: No Restrictions
  • Termination Notice:  3 days; lease must specify which violations will result in eviction. (Some courts have ruled that the tenant be given an opportunity to cure the violation or condition any time up to the entry of judgment in favor of the landlord.)
  • Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent: Yes or repair and deduct

Landlord Disclosures

Real Estate Links

Federal Government

  • Fair Credit Reporting Act – Federal Government legislation which promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of consumer information contained in the files of consumer reporting agencies.
  • Fair Housing Act – The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing. The prohibitions specifically cover discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability and the presence of children

Credit Reports

Tenant Screening

Last Updated: November 10, 2016

No Set Up Fees, No Contracts, No Monthly Minimums!